Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
To file a police report please call 817-952-2440, or 817-952-2127 if it is outside of normal business hours. A variety of reports can be handled over the phone during normal business hours.
For non-emergencies, please fill use the Online Police Report system.
Show All Answers
If you have an issue that needs the attention of the Police Department, please contact 817-952-2440. Outside of normal business hours, please call 817-952-2127 (Dispatch) for immediate assistance.
Visit the City's Municipal Court webpage.
To file a accident/crash report please call 817-952-2440, or 817-952-2127 if it is outside of normal business hours.
You should file an accident report when any of the following has happened:
State law requires that all drivers involved in collisions where total damage is at least $1,000 and/or injury is suffered by any person, and where no police accident report is made, must report the collision to the Texas Department of Transportation in Austin, Texas within 10 days of occurrence.
What to do when involved in a minor accident
Crash reports may be obtained in person at the Bedford Police Department Records Counter for $6/report (additional $2 for a certified copy) or online at:
Please note regarding the above online vendors: LexisNexis/PoliceReports.US will most likely have the Crash report available sooner, but charges a slightly higher fee than the Texas Department of Transportation.
To obtain a police report, please submit your written request through one of the following ways:
The Public Information Act gives the public right of access to government information. A person may ask to review the documents, obtain copies, or both. This only includes documents that are in existence when the request is made. It does not require the government body to create documents or do legal research. The only legal requirement to submit an open records request is that it be in writing.
The Act is triggered when a person submits a written request to the governmental body. The Public Information Act prohibits the governmental body from asking you why you want the information you have requested. The governmental body may, however, ask you to clarify your request if they are uncertain as to what you want, and they may discuss with you how the scope of your request may be narrowed if you have requested a large amount of information.
The governmental body must "promptly" produce public information in response to your request. "Promptly" means that a governmental body may take a reasonable amount of time to produce the information, which varies depending on the facts in each case. The amount of information you have requested is highly relevant to what makes for a reasonable response time.
Requests for public information can be made in the following ways:
To make a complaint regarding noise, please call the non-emergency line at 817-952-2127.
Property is released by appointment only. Appointments should be made prior to arriving to the Bedford Police Department to ensure someone is available and that the property is able to be released. Appointments can be made by calling 817-952-2432. Information provided to the Property Technician should include: your name, phone number, report number, and property description. A government issued photo ID is required for the release of property.
Items are booked into Property and Evidence under three different categories:
The City of Bedford contracts with PropertyRoom.com for the sale of unclaimed items through their auction site. Community members interested in bidding online can go to the auction website.
The Bedford Police Department uses B&B Wrecker Service (1201 W. Euless Boulevard in Euless), which is directly across from the Euless Police Department.
For inquiries regarding fees, payment types, or directions, please contact B&B Wrecker at 817-283-2121 (open 24-hours a day). Be prepared to provide information such as vehicle year, make, model, and a license plate number.
If you'd like to submit a traffic concern, please call the Traffic Division at 817-952-2488.
Online applications are available and are also available for pick-up at the front desk of the Police Department. All applicants are required to go through a background check and are given a copy of the City Ordinance on solicitor permits and handbill permits. For more information about solicitor's permits, contact a Public Service Officer at 817-952-2440.