City Council

Physical Address

City Hall, Building A
2000 Forest Ridge Drive
Bedford, TX 76021


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month
  • City Hall

Meetings may be called when needed.

Agendas, Minutes & Videos

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

View the City Council Meetings Online page to view videos.

Membership Details

The Council consists of 7 members: 6 Council Members and the Mayor who are elected at-large and serve 3-year terms. Council Members serve without pay.

The Mayor presides at meetings of the Council and may vote on all matters coming before the Council. The Council elects, from among its members, a Mayor Pro Tempore who acts as mayor in the absence of the Mayor.

A quorum is a majority of members.


Bedford is incorporated as a home rule city and operates under the council-manager form of government. All powers of the city and the determination of policy are vested in an elective Council which enacts legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, and appoints the city manager to execute the laws and administer the government of the City.

Sources: Texas Constitution; Bedford Charter; Bedford Code of Ordinances, Chapter 2


Council Vision

To be a quality residential community balanced with an environment for planned economic vitality.

Mission Statement

  • Be responsive to the needs of the community.
  • Demonstrate excellent customer service in an efficient manner.
  • Provide for a safe and friendly community environment.
  • Foster economic growth.
  • Protect the vitality of neighborhoods.
  • Encourage citizen involvement.
  • Support and develop arts and culture in Bedford.

Top 3 Focus Areas

  • Budget
  • City Codes
  • Economic Development
2018 Strategic Plan (PDF)
This document is the result of the City Council and staff engaging in a strategic planning process to create a vision for the future of the Bedford community and outlining a path forward towards its achievement. The City Council is being asked to consider the 2018 Strategic Plan that establishes City Council’s leadership vision and clear strategic focus areas, initiatives, priorities, and policies.



Michael Boyter

  • Mayor
  • Term: 2019 - 2021
  • Mayor's Hotline: (817) 952-2108
  • Email Michael Boyter
  • To schedule an appointment, please contact Administration by email or by calling (817) 952-2173. 
Email the entire City Council
Rusty Sartor

Rusty Sartor

Dan Cogan

Dan Cogan

Amy Sabol

Amy Sabol

Tom Burnett

Tom Burnett

Ruth Culver

Ruth Culver

Rob Gagliardi

Rob Gagliardi